Preview: BSO’s Elgar’s Masterpiece

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra are back and they’re kicking off their 2019/20 concert season with some absolute classical bangers. Their opening concert ‘Elgar’s Masterpiece’ will be taking place this Thursday 26th September and features some gems you won’t want to miss.

You’ll be jerked to attention by the opening chords of Sibelius’ iconic Finlandia, soon moving from dark and dramatic brass to a ceremonious anthem for Finland, via a lively melody that will lift your spirits to the Great Hall ceiling.

The ‘masterpiece’ of which the concert title boasts, Elgar’s Cello Concerto will be played by Romanian cellist and winner of the cello division of the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition, Andrei Ioniţă. With its subtle evocation of the English countryside and air of contemplation, the work has grown in popularity since its first performance on 27th October 1919, shortly followed by its debut in Bournemouth a few days after.

The finale of the concert, Tchaikovsky’s renowned Fifth Symphony will be the tune you won’t be able to get out of your head for the rest of the week. Threaded throughout the four movements, the symphony’s main theme features many different evocations. With its beautifully sonorous and mournful second movement featuring the solo horn, light-hearted third movement and triumphant end, this work ticks all the boxes.

Conducted by the BSO’s Young Conductor in Association, Marta Gardolińska, and featuring this programme of orchestral masterpieces, how you could miss out?

Laura Page


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s